When does the home run derby start?Watch the time, TV schedule, participants, etc. of the MLB 2021 game

Get ready to see some baseballs hit a long way.

The eight best batsmen from Major League Baseball will enter the hitting zone of Coors Field, one of the most batter-friendly courses in the sport, to participate in the 2021 home run derby.

In this year’s Derby, there are still some exciting stories. Can Shohei Ohtani become the first pitcher to win all of this? Will Pete Alonso be the third player to win a back-to-back championship? Will Trevor Story become the fourth hometown hero to perform for local fans?

This is all the information you need to watch a home run derby on Monday.

more: Watch home run derby on fuboTV (7-day free trial)

When is the 2021 home run derby?

  • date: Monday, July 12
  • time: 8 p.m. EDT

The 2021 home run derby for Major League Baseball is scheduled to start at 8 p.m. Eastern Time on Monday, July 12. It lasts for three rounds, and eight MLB players will go all out in the scaffolding game until the champion is crowned.

How to watch the 2021 home run derby

When watching the 2021 home run derby, fans will have two choices. The traditional broadcast of Karl Ravech, Eduardo Perez, Buster Olney and Marly Rivera will be broadcast on ESPN, and the Statcast version will be broadcast on ESPN2, including Jason Benetti, Jessica Mendoza and Mike Petriello.

Both options can be used in ESPN+ or fuboTV provides a 7-day free trial.

2021 home run derby contestants

The 2021 home run derby has been finalized this week, and the last three players-Matt Olsen, Juan Soto and Joey Gallo-are confirmed to join at Coors Field on Monday Shohei Ohtani, Pete Alonso, Trey Mancini Trevor Story and Salvador Perez at the slugfest.

The first round of the game was also finalized on Wednesday night. The winner of Otani against Soto will face Perez against Alonso on the side of the semifinals, while the winner of Gallo against Storey is ready to advance. On the other side, fight the victors of Olsen and Mancini. Then, the winners of the semi-finals will clash and decide the 2021 home run derby champion.

Bracket 1

seed Batter
1 Otani Shohei
8 Juan Soto

Bracket 2

seed Batter
4 Salvador Perez
5 Pete Alonso

Bracket 3

seed Batter
2 Joey Gallo
7 Trevor’s story

Bracket 4

seed Batter
3 Matt Olsen
6 Tre Mancini

Past home run derby champions

This is the man who won the home run derby in the past. Ken Griffey Jr. is the only batsman to win the derby in Colorado. He also holds the record for the most home run derby championships, with a total of 3 games, including 1998 and 1999, when he became the first player to win this event back-to-back.

year player team Park (city)
2019 year Pete Alonso metropolis Progress Field (Cleveland)
2018 Bryce Harper national National Park (Washington, DC)
2017 Judge Aaron Yankees Marlins Park (Miami)
2016 Giancarlo Stanton Marlin Petco Park (San Diego)
2015 Todd Fraser Celebrities The Great American Baseball Stadium (Cincinnati)
Year 2014 Eunice Cespedes sports Shooting Range (Minneapolis)
year 2013 Eunice Cespedes sports Citi Field (New York City)
2012 Prince Field Tigers Kaufman Park (Kansas City)
year 2011 Robinson Cano Yankees Chase Field (Phoenix)
year 2010 David Ortiz Red Sox Angel Stadium (Anaheim)
Year 2009 Prince Field Brewer Busch Stadium (St. Louis)
Year 2008 Justin Mono twin Yankee Stadium (New York City)
2007 Vladimir Guerrero angel AT&T Park (San Francisco)
year 2006 Ryan Howard Phillies PNC Park (Pittsburgh)
2005 Bobby Abreu Phillies Comerica Park (Detroit)
year 2004 Miguel Tejada Orioles Minute Maid Park (Houston)
Year 2003 Garrett Anderson angel US Cellular Field (Chicago)
year 2002 Jason Jamby Yankees Miller Park (Milwaukee)
2001 Luis Gonzalez Rattlesnake Safeco Field (Seattle)
2000’s Sammy Sousa Cub Turner Field (Atlanta)
Year 1999 Ken Griffith’s Early Experience sailor Fenway Park (Boston)
1998 Ken Griffith sailor Coors Field (Colorado)
1997 Tino Martinez Yankees Jacobs Field (Cleveland)
1996 Barry Bonds Giants Veterans Stadium (Philadelphia)
the year 1995 Frank Thomas White Sox Arlington Baseball Stadium (Arlington)
1994 Ken Griffith’s Early Experience sailor Three Rivers Stadium (Pittsburgh)
1993 Juan Gonzalez Rangers Oriole Park at Camden Yards (Baltimore)
1992 Mark McGuire sports Jack Murphy Stadium (San Diego)
year 1991 Karl Ripken Jr Orioles SkyDome (Toronto)
1990 Ryan Sandberg Cub Wrigley Field (Chicago)
1989* Rubensella Rangers Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
1989* Eric Davis Celebrities Anaheim Stadium (Anaheim)
year 1987 Andre Dawson Cub Oakland-Alameda County Stadium (Auckland)
1986* Wally Joyner angel Planetarium (Houston)
1986* Daryl Strawberry metropolis Planetarium (Houston)
1985 Dave Parker Celebrities Hubert H. Humphrey Metrodome (Minneapolis)

*Both 1986 and 1989 saw a draw in the home run derby

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *