From the perspective of the balance of the game, the England team may deserve to win the semi-finals, but the way the England team advances is not good for some fans.
Dutch referee Danny Mackelly took a penalty kick in the 104th minute of stoppage time, which finally proved the difference between England’s 2-1 victory over Denmark at Wembley Stadium. He judged that Raheem Sterling was fouled by Denmark’s Joakim Mailer in the penalty area, but there were some problems with this game (indicated in the video below).
Did Raheem Sterling dive?
Sterling is the most dangerous England player on the field, but this time he broke into the penalty area and it looks like he may have modified a little to tie the penalty.
After the game Sterling was asked whether it was a “generous penalty” or a “definite penalty”. This is what he had to say:
“Yes, I entered the penalty area, he stretched out his right leg, I… he touched my leg, so it was an obvious punishment,” Sterling said.
I hesitated halfway, but we will go. He was right, there was contact between Maehle’s leg and his own leg, but it might not cause the roll as it happened.
Experts’ evaluation of penalties
In this case, several authoritative opinions did not stand on the side of the referee, the first being former Premier League and FIFA referee Mark Clattenburg (Mark Clattenburg).
“As a referee, do you really want to resolve the game based on this kind of decision?” Kratenberg asked on ESPN. “In such a big game, am I willing to pay? I’m not sure. I thought: Do you want to solve this problem in such an important game? Especially when we see a comparison with Harry Kane? An early penalty may be more like a penalty…it is more important than a penalty against Raheem Sterling.”
Kratenberg didn’t understand why the referee could not just choose to stop the game without awarding a penalty, and then let the video assistant referee to check whether the game was worth watching again on the monitor. But once Ma Kelly took a penalty, only no contact would be overturned, because it was an obvious mistake.
“I can understand why it is called, but I would rather it not be given,” Kratenberg continued. “So VAR, especially when it is so soft, VAR can advise him to go to the review area, check it a second time, and then make a decision. Once the referee gives it, it is absolutely impossible that this is an obvious mistake, because there is contact .”
Long-time coach Mourinho has a clear view on this matter:
“There is never a fine. The best team wins. England deserves to win, but for me, it’s never a penalty,” Mourinho said. “I think at this level, especially at this level in the European semi-finals, I really don’t understand the referee’s decision. … So as a football player, I am very happy that the England team won. Don’t get me wrong. Meaning. And I think they are worthy of victory. But as a football player, I am disappointed with the penalty.”
“This is never a penalty!” ❌
“Especially at this level, the semifinals in Europe. I don’t understand this decision.”
José Mourinho said that England should not be punished against Denmark. pic.twitter.com/MKiEYk6K12
—TalkSPORT (@talkSPORT) July 7, 2021
“No free throws,” said Wenger, the legendary former Arsenal coach. “The important thing is that the referee absolutely believes this is a penalty, and it is not clear enough to say yes, yes. At least he should look at the screen.”
Ultimately, this decision will become the material for England’s opponents and critics. A Scottish tabloid seized this opportunity:
Laser points to the Danish goalkeeper
After the game, video and images surfaced, and during the penalty attempt, the laser was pointed at the Danish goalkeeper Kasper Schmeichel. Schmeichel seemed to be temporarily distracted by it, but he saved a shot, gave up a rebound, and was eventually sent home by Kane in the second attempt.
It is not clear if the VAR will find the laser pointer in the replay, whether it can be re-punished.but FIFA does have a disciplinary agreement Prepared for teams that have not taken appropriate measures to prevent these situations from happening.
Two balls on the court
Then there is a less important detail, which may have prevented the entire punishment sequence from happening from the beginning.
Before Sterling falls in the area, the game may be blew because of the presence of the second ball on the court. The referee seems to be looking at the direction of the second ball. If he did see it and did not blow his whistle to play dead, he must think it did not interfere with the game.
game rules(Page 62) Stipulates that if “an extra ball… enters the playing field during the game, the referee must stop the game (and restart with the dropped ball) only if it interferes with the game.” It went on to say, the referee Should “allow the game to continue without interfering with the game.”
Why didn’t anyone mention that there were two balls on the court when Sterling jumped #United Kingdom punishment? When there are two balls on the court, the game always stops. pic.twitter.com/4SwXfnhXsi
-Chuckles Le Vert (@ChucklesLeVert) July 7, 2021